English 9 Honors Was a Mistake

April 15 2024

Dead flower to be dramatic.

Summary You wish you could go back in time and so do I.

Last year, during the beginning of 2023, the students of the school were given course request forms for 9th grade. I did not have to think much since I already knew which classes I would take. I had heard that physics in the universe was a year behind of living earth so that choice was clear. I also needed to take a language and so I took spanish. Everything seemed fine.

I had heard many people talking about how difficult English honors would be, so I knew that I should not pick it. After all, It barely had any use for me.

That could have been the end of it.


So then what happend?

Desite the fact that english honors was very difficult, many of my friends told me that they were going to take it. Naturally, I felt more inclined to take the class but I had not changed my mind yet. Which sane person would pick a class that was rumored to have essays assigned every other week?

The night before the forms were due, me and my dad sat down to review my choices. Everything went well until we got to the bottom of the paper.

"Why are you not taking english honors," he asked.

I was going to tell him the rumors that I had heard but then I thought, How hard can this class actually be? I'm sure I can handle it.

Maybe I had woken up in the wrong hemisphere. Life can be very twisted at times. I did not know, that as I marked English 9 Honors on the form, I was giving up a good couple years of my life. I was arrogant at the wrong time and at the wrong place. What a fool I was to happily sell my soul so easily. Any person with a drop of sanity would have known not to pick english 9 honors. My sorry excuse for confidence and self esteem had single handedly thrown me into hell. Reality would only pierce my thick skull after I tasted the class for the first time. The extent of the bitterness of the class is only surpassed by my regret and anger. Arrogance is truly only for fools, and I was the biggest fool there was.

Ok, but in all honesty

I'm exaggerating if you have not realized by now. English 9 Honors is not as bad as it seems and you don't have as much homework as the kids say you do. You also develop some good skills and become a way better writer. The only difference from a normal english class is that the work is graded much more harshly and you get some extra work.

Oh and also you get a tiny bit of stress. Like a cubic millimeter, nothing more.

English honors is not that useful since im not going to be doing anything related to english in the future, but it's still doesn't hurt to get better at writing. I do wish that I could go back in time and not pick this class, but at the end of the day, it is better to just accept your circumstance and move on. Life is too short to spend your time being furious for a decision that you made when you were 14.

That was my english 9 honors story, I hope I did not hurt anyone's feelings.

Goodbye.